Form – Contextual Reference – Mirka Knaster

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mirka Knaster is a Textile artist. When Mirka was younger she did not have any textile artists growing up. Instead, her mother taught her how to sew, knit, and crochet. Therefore she did not realise that these skills that she was gaining will aid her later on in life. Mirka was not interested in Textiles whenever she was growing up, however she did make pants, shirts, and knitted vests and even made pottery. I believe that after learning this about Mirka I believe that this experience lead her onto the path that she has yet to follow.

Mirka is influenced by worldwide experiences and takes huge influence on different cultures.

Mirka is interested in how other people dress, their customs, the way they decorate their homes and religious institutions.

This really comes out in her work, the way some are stylised and coloured and also the technique that she uses. Mirka beautifully expresses colour, line, mark-making and pattern. Textiles has played a role in the evolution of human beings and Mirka believes that they play a huge role in the way we live our lives today and uses this to produce works that are emotional to viewer.

Until researching Mirka I never considered how textiles actually affects myself personally every day, from the way my clothes are made to curtains, drapes and rugs they all fall into textile and fashion. I personally never really noticed, my ignorance aided me to ignore that fact.

Mirka’s work can be seen celebrating life, nature and creates feelings. Which again I am interested in. Her work is very beautiful in the way it is made. From the colour to the cross stitching of different fibres and the running stitch creating an atmosphere.

Sadly I am only a beginner in stitching and I do not see myself pursuing this myself. I did take a few things from Mirka. Observe and listen to other cultures. Learn more about other cultures and take inspiration from the stories, the religion and the people. I also took inspiration for stitching different fabrics and fibres together to create an atmosphere and pattern.

Citations

  1. Knaster, M [2015] Mirka Knaster Official website. [Online] Available at: https://mirkaart.com/about-mirka/ [Accessed 1 November 2016]
  2. Textile Artist. Knaster, M. [2014] Mirka Knaster interview: Initiative and improvisational. [Online] Available at: http://www.textileartist.org/mirka-knaster-interview-intuitive-and-improvisational/ [Accessed at: 1 November 2016]

 

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close